Cloud Strategy


(This post is triggered by John Gannon asking me a question about “the implication of VMware acquisition of Spring Source?”)

IaaS: Infrastructure as a Service

PaaS: Platform as a Service

SaaS: Software as a Service

The proposition: The proposition: The proposition:
  • I will give you a virtual machine in the cloud which you can provision any time you want
  • You pay for what you use
  • You can scale it up or down whenever you wish
  • You continue to use the same set of software
  • I will give you a software platform which you can use to build and deploy application in the cloud
  • You pay based on usage
  • You do not need to pay for any additional software
  • I will provide you with ready to use applications
  • You just need to log in and use
  • You not need to buy anything
  • You have no administrative hassles
  • You pay only for what you use
Questions / doubts: Questions / doubts: Questions / doubts:
  • Will things work exactly the same way it works now?
  • Is my data secured with you?
  • What guarantees do you provide?
  • I have to rewrite my existing applications
  • I will also have to learn the new platform which is different
  • I will get locked in to your platform
  • How do you take care of my needs if it is beyond or different from what you provide?
  • How do I integrate with my existing applications?

Different vendor strategy

Here is a diagram which shows the strategy of some of the major player in the Cloud Computing space to counter the questions and doubts:

VMware: I already have the most popular virtualization software and I will integrate Spring Source and create the best PaaS offering.

Amazon EC2: I am extending my cloud facility to a virtual private environment so that you security concerns are taken care.

Microsoft: I am giving you a platform which is very similar to what you use so that you can seamlessly extend your application to the cloud and even the developers can continue to use the same set of tools.

SalesForce.com: I am giving you a Force.com with which you can build what you need over and above what I provide out of the box.

Google App Engine: I am creating a platform with which you get access to my complete infrastructure – practically unlimited processing power & storage and all my existing services.

What do I think?

This is my view for the longer term – 3 to 5 years.

To take full advantage of the power of cloud computing we need to break away from traditional programming paradigm – thinking bounded by …

  1. …sequential processing
  2. …relational storage
  3. …the physical boundary of a machine

And, I think Google App Engine is in the best position to provide solution for the new paradigm.

 


Comments
16 Responses to “Cloud Strategy”
  1. Raju Arora says:

    At Business Technology Summit 2010, to be held 11-12 November 2010 in Bangalore, Dr. Chris Harding will speak about Using Cloud in Your Enterprise Architecture, Managing Cloud Risks, SOA for Interoperability, and SOA Governance. The summit also features topics like Soa, SaaS, PaaS, Cloud Computing and many more.

  2. Rebecca Dias says:

    You are missing Amazon Web Services which made them the first PaaS

  3. John Gannon says:

    Udayan — I would also add that the ‘questions/doubts’ may add up as you move from less controlled (IaaS) to more controlled (SaaS) environments. For example, SaaS users may have concerns about lock-in and data security, in addition to the specific items you mentioned.

  4. Saqib Ali says:

    Udayan,

    I love the vendor strategy chart. Would it be ok for me reproduce it on my blogs, with proper credits, of course?

    Thanks
    Saqib

  5. Jake Burns says:

    Udayan,

    Nice post. If you have a few minutes, we would love to show you around our PaaS. We believe we allow for far more functionality without programming than other platforms like force or caspio. Let me know.
    http://www.workxpress.com
    jburns@workxpress.com

    Jake

    • setandbma says:

      I went through your site but could not locate any literature which could give me any overview of your solution works.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] one sense, cloud is just an extension of virtualized hosting solution but 3 distinct cloud strategies are in vogue. However, do look at Google App Engine – though it is still work in progress – it […]

  2. […] cloud market place has many players with different strategies but I have not considered SaaS players like Salesforce.com. Though every organization from IBM to […]

  3. […] …it will be a fillip for the cloud provider (Cloud Strategy) […]

  4. […] are sufficiently different from each other and each of these companies is following a different cloud strategy – so we need to understand their pricing […]

  5. […] one sense, cloud is just an extension of virtualized hosting solution but 3 distinct cloud strategies are in vogue. However, do look at Google App Engine – though it is still work in progress – it […]

  6. […] I have excluded SaaS from this discussion – you can see the comparison between IaaS, PaaS and SaaS on this post on Cloud Strategy. […]

  7. √(-1) says:

    NIST’s definition of Cloud Computing. What is Cloud Computing?…

    The following has been reproduced from NIST’s common set of definitions around cloud computing and its use cases. Experts at NIST developed this draft definition in collaboration with industry and government. It was developed as the foundation for a…



Leave a comment